Samoa Rice Krispie Treats (makes ~12)

Grocery shopping with friends is tough. Up and down every aisle, many of which I can completely cross off my typical route because I can’t eat anything in most of the store. “You can’t have pickles??” “What about chicken noodle soup?” “Okay, you have to be able to eat pudding.” No, no, no. I know, the world is harsh. But, then they ask, “so what can you eat?” And I say ANYTHING, I just have to make it from scratch! So my friends say they want me to make them desserts from scratch because they think I’m the next Betty Crocker. Well, this time my friend bought me coconut, and what did I make? Samoa rice krispie treats! Here’s the recipe from Chocolate With Grace:

IngredientsIMG_3916

6 cups Rice Krispies

4 tbsp. butter

5 cups miniature marshmallows

3 cups chocolate chips

1 and 1/2 cups coconut flakes

3/4 cup caramel sauce, homemade is best

Instructions

1. Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Stir in marshmallows until melted. Remove from heat and stir in Rice Krispies. Press into a well greased 9 x 13 inch pan. Cool completely and cut into 24 bars.

2. Melt chocolate chips in a deep microwave proof bowl, stirring every 10 seconds. When the chocolate is completely melted, dip the bottom 1/3 of each Rice Krispie Treat into the chocolate and let them dry completely upside down.

 Mix together the caramel sauce and coconut together in a small bowl. Place a small spoonful on the top of each treat and drizzle with more melted chocolate and let it set. They are best enjoyed fresh, the same day.

Leave a comment